The history of Laurel Lodge

Combining old world architectural charm with Catskill Mountain splendor, Laurel Lodge began as a one-story summer bungalow, built around 1900 on the site of a 19th century church that served a community of Irish tanners. In 1924, the house was expanded by writer and playwright John Taintor Foote into the grander lodge we see today. While living there, Foote wrote A Wedding Gift—a fly-fishing classic—and other beloved novels of the time. Now owned by his descendants, the home has many original furnishings and details of the 1920’s.

To retain its unique period charm, minimal upgrades have been adopted. As a guest, one has the rare opportunity to experience life as it might have looked in the 1920s. Now a century old, our beloved Laurel Lodge requires particular care. While the heating and electricity have been updated, and there are a number of modern appliances, most of the home's furniture and fixtures date from 1924. In this sense, the house feels more like an architectural time capsule from the 1920s than a contemporary home with modern conveniences. This age provides much of its charm, but also many of its eccentricities. Period window fixtures and doors may be sticky, light wall sconces may be temperamental, and nearly all the furniture is antique and delicate.

The lodge is secluded and private, set on 63 acres of wooded land, nestled in the heart of the Catskills. There is a cut path that leads down to the lakefront, just a few minutes’ walk. At the lake’s edge are Adirondack chairs for relaxing and taking in the picturesque view across the water (apologies, no lake access).

 Laurel Lodge is an ideal basecamp for the region’s worldclass hiking and fishing. There is also public swimming and fishing in the Beaverkill River at the Beaverkill Covered Bridge, a ten-minute walk from the house.

 Please email us with your interest in staying in the property.